Some people believe that they should keep all the money they have earned and should not pay tax to the state. Do you agree or disagree with the above notion?

Dues are being levied by governments on the earnings of its citizens, and the collections are being used for the development of the nation. However, there is a considerable thought penetrating that one should be allowed to keep their earnings, instead of paying cuts to the state; but, I firmly disagree with the statement as the taxes are essential for the growth of a country. Taxes are the major contributor to the development of a nation providing improved infrastructure like better rail, road and air connectivity, enhanced educational and healthcare facilities cost a ton to government, and these are mostly funded by the collection from dues. The countries with better tax collection system are more developed, and the citizens find these statutory cuts quite justified. For example, in the countries like the United States and Canada, even though the tax slabs are very high, yet the people of these nations pay their dues voluntary because they are not only getting quality healthcare and educational services but also enjoy these services for free of cost. Hence, an effective, transparent and well-justified tax collection system undoubtedly helps in the development of the nation, as well as helps in keeping its citizens happy and satisfied. Moreover, taxes are the main source of income of a government, and to administer and run a state a lot of funds are involved. The major portion of a nation ’s defence budget comes from the revenue collected in the form of dues. If people are allowed not to pay taxes on their earnings, it would be very difficult for the government to run a country. Furthermore, the old-age pensions and other benefits which are provided to senior citizens who cannot earn anymore are also funded by the state. For example, in Australia and New Zealand, the states take care of their elderly by providing them all the services, either it is monetary or any other support, from the funds collected through statutory payments by citizens. Thus, taxes are also a sort of investment or saving for retired life. In conclusion, taxes are not only essential for the development of a nation but also important to provide services to the citizens. Hence, every individual should honestly pay their statutory dues, and help in the growth of the country.