The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether the media should focus more on problems has sparked heated debate. Some argue that negative contents are harmful to individuals, while others see that problems and emergencies are worth the public’s attention. My personal idea is the latter should be more emphasized because media can actually provide in-time information for disaster forecasting or prevention. In this essay, I will elaborate more detail and provide my personal opinions. First of all, the media is an essential means to deliver messages that include both positive and negative information. Although the masses enjoy the optimistic news since this makes them feel good, there are some non-negligible facts that needed to be reckoned with. For instance, in Taiwan, the media always provide predicted routes and possibly influenced areas of a typhoon, in terms of preventing people from losing their lives or properties. In this way, whenever citizens receive such information, they can act accordingly. Furthermore, the media cannot merely provide the brightness of society and is reluctant to make the public informed. It is a lawful citizen’s right to be informed that what actually occurred, for example, a dictatorship always prevents its citizens from knowing the truth. If there were some catastrophic events that occurred in such a nation, citizens may not have the right to know where are their families and the actual death counted. This is why we need to appreciate our free media in the nation of freedom, and well use such rights to make this world a better place. In conclusion, it is crucial that citizens are well-informed about all kinds of information. Nevertheless, some significant news is often seen as negative and detrimental to individuals. The reasons listed above show that some concerning information can fundamentally impact society positively. As a result, I advocate that the media and the government should always keep citizens informed of all major events.