In order to study at university students are required to pay expensive tuition fees. Not all students can afford them so some people think that university education should be free for everyone? To what extent do you agree.

Exorbitant university fees have deprived many talented students of continuing their education, therefore they wind up dropping from school. According to others, they agree that university education ought to be free. In my opinion, I believe that education at universities should be free worldwide as this will bring more benefits for individuals and society. One of the reasons to abolish the fees at universities is that it gives an equal opportunity for students regardless of their background. In other words, low-income students can have a chance to pursue a degree at a prestigious university along with other rich students. For example, a student from low-income families with high intellectual ability can get an acceptance from Yale University without the need to pay for tuition fees and consequently that can open up many opportunities for them in the long run. Another reason to consider is that free education will give the students more time to focus on their studies and less time to work. For example, international students being away from their home country tend to work multiple jobs to afford the expensive school fees, but with free, education the students can finish their degrees on time without the need to worry about the fees. Finally, free education can improve the status quo of society from various aspects. For instance, the well-being of a society highly depends on doctors and physicians and the education systems that encourage equality by providing free education can lead to having more graduates from medical schools and thus maintaining a healthy society. To sum up, expensive university fees can hinder the progress of the individual and society and therefore it is ought by countries around the world to make the education free for everyone as it will transform the lives of so many people and enhance the situation of the societies.