Some people believe that governments are spending more money on wild life. This money should be used for other works. Do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, governments are spending inordinate amounts of money for wildlife protection when there are other pressing issues in the country. I agree with this view to a great extent. While I do admit that protecting wildlife is important, in my opinion, other areas like education and healthcare should be the priority of the government. On the one hand, humans are considered the most important species in the world. Even in this era, many people in developing countries are underprivileged, impoverished and deprived of basic necessities of life. Women are still downgraded in some societies and there is an increasing infant mortality rate. The government should focus more on alleviating these problems first, in my opinion. The recent Covid pandemic has completely disrupted people ’s lives, and some poor countries do not have the financial capacity to buy the vaccines to tackle them. Newer research and development in the medical field to tackle the outbreak of such epidemics requires huge investment and should be given more priority than wildlife preservation. Having said that, protecting animals is still important. The government can accomplish this by simply allowing animals to live in their natural habitat. It should bring in stringent laws to prevent deforestation and poaching. Oftentimes, poaching is a by-product of unemployment. If people do not have another means of living, they may take to poaching and illegal animal trade. By creating more job opportunities and enhancing the living standards of people, the government can prevent them from destroying wildlife. If animals can live safely in their natural habitat, the government does not have to do anything more to protect them. In conclusion, I believe that wildlife conservationists have overlooked the real challenges faced by humanity. Governments should allocate more budget to solve the problems of poverty, education and deadly diseases. This does not mean that wildlife should be ignored; it should be protected by enacting stringent laws.