Some people say that the only reason for learning a new foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Although languages are the main means of communication among people, learning a foreign language and speaking other languages besides the mother tongue has a variety of different reasons, such as entertainment and work. This argument, the importance of being bilingual only for working or living in another country, is both supported and refuted by many. This essay will analyse both sides of the argument before declaring a position. On one hand, many people believe that learning and speaking other languages for other reasons is also worthwhile. Take people who are under the influence of the Korean wave, culture and language, as an example. Most of them learn Korean, although they know, they would never live in South Korea, and they learn this language only for entertainment. Not only is not it a waste of time, but also helps them to prevent Alzheimer's disease, which is proved by American scientists. Thus, it makes it clear, how learning a language can be helpful for our health, while we learn it only for entertaining. On the other hand, other people are of the opinion that learning a new language is only reasonable for working in and travelling to other countries. For instance, some English speakers believe that they do not need to learn a new language, since their language is enough to get a well-paid job, as a consequence of being an international language. Therefore, it seems reasonable for this group of people to argue that learning a new language is sensible only for working and travelling somewhere. In summary, there has always been a debate between the two sides of this argument regarding the reasonable reason for learning a foreign language for only work and travel or other reasons. Personally, I believe, we should consider all the aspects and benefits of learning a language and consider all the factors.