There have been many inventions in human history, such as wheels. Some people think the most important thing is the Internet. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

From the beginning of the world until the present time numerous important things were invented. It is believed that the Internet would be the most significant of them. There are a number of arguments both in favour and against this view. There are some persuasive arguments against this view. Firstly some people would argue that medical breakthroughs, such as the vaccine against malaria, and the discovery of antibiotics are of a far greater value. Before the discovery of antibiotics, life expectancy was much lower than nowadays, with many people dying from simple infections or even the common cold. Antibiotics also brought about the modern medicine and enabled doctors to safely perform surgeries. Prior to this, the rate of complications after surgery was close to 100% and the fatality rate around 50%. This fact was making the majority of surgeries performed today virtually impossible to be carried out. Another invention from our time and of vital importance is the vaccine against Covid 19, as many of the people who have had the disease and their life was saved by it would confirm it. On the other hand, there are strong arguments in favour of the advent of the Internet as being the most important discovery. For instance, there are many people who invoke access to free information as being the best thing since sliced bread. Today everybody has access to information about anything they are interested in at just a click of a button away. It is therefore much easier and faster to accumulate knowledge and to become an expert in any field. If, for example, someone wants to learn a foreign language, they have now innumerable web sites and tools available for them to use which makes this process incomparable more convenient. Another important benefit which people could bring in favour of the Internet is the instant connectivity and the communication which is now helping us to keep in contact with distant friends and relatives. Social media has made our life more comfortable, we can now use these communication tools for work as well and this is bringing progress in every field, including medicine at a much faster pace. To sum up, I believe the Internet has brought important benefits and perhaps will bring a greater number of benefits which are impossible to imagine yet as the Internet is just at the beginning of its life. However, I think the medical breakthroughs enabled by the advent of antibiotics which is saving millions of lives every year is still more important.