People who cause their own illnesses through unhealthy lifestyles and poor diets should have to pay more for health care. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often claimed that individuals who indulge in unhealthy eating and poor nutrition habits should finance their health care provision at a higher rate. However, I strongly disagree with the previous statement. Reasons to support my opinion will be stated in the next paragraphs. Firstly, primary care is a fundamental right that has to be equally provided to everyone regardless of their age, economic status, or lifestyle. Therefore, health care systems should not be considered as a financial sector that is in a race to get the best income possible, but as a sector that serves the community and saves lives. Hence, governments should enforce regulations in the medicare sector that assure the proper and equal treatment to all of their citizens when it is relating to their health. Secondly, governments can develop better strategies to combat the issue of having detrimental lifestyles and malnutrition habits. For instance, raise awareness of the issues that the lack of fitness habits can cause. That is to say if people gain insights regarding their deteriorating life conditions it will entirely lead to a broad range of changes in their lives. Another example might be assuring everybody has food served at their tables. For example, In many developing countries, a large number of people in certain areas do not have enough resources to feed their families, thus, an unstable diet directly affects their immune system leading to future illnesses. Subsequently, the fewer people are sick, the less money is spent on the health system, this is why global governments should work on prevention plans. In a nutshell, though many people agree that economic contributions to the health care system might be based on each individual's diet style, I think that health is a basic human right that should be evenly provided along with accurate strategies for further development in people's well-being. It is predicted that in the following twenty years 15% of the global population will suffer from unhealthy diets related diseases.