Shortage of Housing has given several social consequences. Only government can solve the problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Some people argue that the lack of houses has had a significant impact on society. This essay not only agrees with the argument but also believes that only government can solve such issues. Firstly, this essay illustrates the security problem and secondly, about the effect on youngsters. To begin, with a common problem that homeless people face is the lack of security. People who have shelter have some sort of assurance to their belongings by storing things in lockers, secured cabins etc. However, the shelter-less folks cannot afford these and even if afforded, it is not protected as it is not under a roof. As a consequence, this promotes robbery and other crimes. For example, the government of Austria was able to identify this issue and started maintaining homes, dormitories and providing basic amenities for the homeless. This helped to overcome robbery compared to previous years. Furthermore, the homeless effect definitely has an impact on young minds and their behaviour. Usually these people are so destitute that they do not have the essentials to live. It is believed that "Today's youngsters are tomorrow's adults who drive the nation". Although, there are exceptional cases where a poor man goes on to become a celebrity, practically it is one in a million scenario. For,example the government of the US has some special homes and care centres for children where they are also educated and trained to be self-dependent. To conclude, security issues and impact on children are the by-products that a society has to deal with when the shelter-less population is significant. As it is a wider issue only government can solve this by taking necessary steps like sheltering the deprived and the needy community.