Some believe that the Olympic games help bring people from different nations together, while others claim that holding the Olympics wastes money which could be used for important issues.

Many people claim that the Olympic games are beneficial in connecting people from all around the globe together; however, other people insist that the Olympics are too pricey for what they offer, and the budget of the games could be used on something more crucial. I am going to discuss the arguments of both sides and express my honest opinion on the matter. Firstly, I believe it crucial to underline the rich history and success of the Olympic games throughout the years. The Olympics were a primary weapon in tackling the issue of racial hate. By bringing people and athletes even from the most distant nations to compete in an ideally healthy competition environment, Olympics achieved in connecting humans that would never do otherwise and broaden the boundaries of many individuals. As a result, nationalism and racism declined. Therefore, the Olympics helped create a more peaceful and understanding world. For instance, there are historical examples where two top athletes from rival countries created a friendly bond together through their passion for the same sport, giving the right model to the citizens watching the broadcasted event. On the other side of the spectrum, plenty of people claim that the Olympics are not offering enough to the world to justify their cost. It is indeed true that the event's organisation is extremely costly, especially in a world where problems like world hunger and homelessness still exist. Therefore, it is wise to spend this enormous amount of money on tackling those issues rather than organising a sporting event. In conclusion, I firmly believe that despite the tremendous cost of organising the Olympic games, they justify the expenses by dealing with plenty of crucial global social problems and contributing to world peace and stability.