Some people say that a country should produce food locally, while others believe that it is good to import food. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

Nowadays the production of local food has become a controversial matter because the opinion of the community is divided between to remain stick to the local products or imported food. Personally, I believe that having the resources to cultivate or manufacture national products will generate a positive impact on the economy, while imported products could be hit in the opposite way the Country's economy and financial issues will affect the nation. In this essay, I will explain how beneficial will be to encourage the population to produce national goods. Firstly, as per the geographic characteristics of each country, there is a wide range of products that could be harvested per season or some others all over the year. This means that a positive impact generates local employment in those fields and at the same time brings up the opportunity to consume fresh products without preservatives that have to be added to extend their shelve life. Both will affect positive on the population's finances because diminish the unemployment situation and at the same time the food cost of their groceries will be less. Another aspect to consider is that raw materials for the food industry will be acquired at the lowest costs rather than if the food production chain is based on imported items. For example, if there is a Tomato paste industry and is it possible to cover the demand with the national production of tomatoes all the production costs will be dropped and the final product will have a lower acquisition value for the consumer. It is a clear example that explains the economic and financial positive impact coming from the local production of goods. In conclusion, Imported products should be for those options that are not able to be produced locally while local production should be promoted for a wide national benefit of the population.