Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Attire or clothing of a person can help define several characteristics of that individual. Some people tend to agree with this opinion. I, however, partially agree with such an argument and will try to provide an explanation for both sides. On one hand, the type of wardrobe a person wears can sometimes help in determining the location and occupation of an individual. For example, anyone who has served in the military or worked as a banker will generally tend to wear formals as compared to a musician who will mostly prefer casuals like tees or jeans. Moreover, the attires also change with the geographical locations, to illustrate, women in India have more inclination towards saree while in western countries women prefer jeans and tees. However, there is another side to this argument that suggests that judging someone on the basis of dresses or attire is not a very good practice. There are cases where people start perceiving things about a person if they are wearing something that is not appropriate according to them. For instance, recently, there was a comment by a politician condemning the use of ripped jeans by today's generation and having a notion that youngsters wearing these clothes do not have the right morals or values. Subsequently, notions are developed about their culture, values and morals without even having a conversation with them. In addition, everyone does not have a choice regarding what to wear. For example, poor people are sometimes forced to wear clothes that are passed upon by the rich. In conclusion, although, the choice of clothes can be an indicator of a few characteristics like occupation or geographical location, yet, it is not right to judge an individual's culture or morals based on what he/she chooses to wear.