Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The language barrier is one of the biggest social, professional and practical challenges for community who live in a foreign country and this is sometimes so severe that many people find it hard to fit in and manage a job. This also can lead to frustrations and sometimes affect the well-being of such people and there is no denying that people living abroad without knowing the language are the worst sufferers. To begin with, migrants who do not speak or understand the native language fail to understand the local custom and culture which leads to social problems. They hardly talk to local people and have little idea about the cultural diversity of the country. As the result, they even fail to realise the rules and regulations and how people feel in certain circumstances. The influx of immigrants in many European countries, for instance, cause social problems because of the newly arrived immigrants, social crises, discriminatory practices and many times violent reactions and racism. Therefore, the migrants develop an antipathy towards other residents and local people and segregate themselves from others. Moreover, not knowing the local language makes it harder for immigrants to find a direction, read important notices, order food from a menu, talk to the local citizen for help and most importantly manage a job. It is quite natural that an employer would prefer someone who can communicate with people of the homey and the language barrier, according to many settler, is the leading cause they remain unemployed. Not knowing the language, furthermore, causes many practical complication which are unavoidable. In conclusion, before immigrating to a country, people should make their best effort to learn the language that most population in this country talk and understand to avoid cruel social unrest and practical problems.