Music has always been and continue to be a universal language of mankind. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With globalization, different cultures including all kinds of music have spread across the world. When we stay at home to appreciate a piece of exotic song, we cannot rate music as a universal language of mankind. This essay will illustrate this viewpoint clearly. To begin with, music may not become a global language of the human being as it is a symbol of culture. There are significantly diverse cultures in the world, which include colourful forms of music. Every form of music definitely distinguishes itself from others. This means that it is hard to fully comprehend each kind of music from different cultural backgrounds with different styles, even if expressing a similar emotion of human beings. For instance, in order to express the feeling of sorrow, the performance of GuQing, an ancient Chinese traditional instrument, may not be understood by western audiences without the oriental knowledge base, vice versa. Additionally, it is a misconception that music is a universal language of mankind. The crucial factor is that western culture has been and continued to be the global mainstream culture. This results in all kinds of musical styles that represent western civilization are popular, which have been making many people misunderstand that music is a common language of mankind. Meanwhile, other kinds of music from non-mainstream cultures have been neglected for a long time, such as the Kung opera that is a kind of antique and survived Chinese musical. This is a piece of obvious evidence to prove that not all music can be a common language. In conclusion, music represents the diversity of culture, but not a global language of mankind. I strongly disagree with the viewpoint that music can be regarded as a common language, but believe that music from western culture may be acceptable across the world.