Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspaper will remain the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?

The Internet has completely changed how we interact and communicate with the world. Even how we consume our news every day.With the advent of websites and mobile phone applications adoption of paper printed stories of the day have been on a decrease for a time now. This has led me to the belief that newspapers will be slowly phased and will be replaced by online services. There are plenty of reasons which has pushed the reporting and journalism industry to go online. Firstly, is the trend of putting all the services online with the advent of the internet and portable devices. Online news blogs and websites had made to remain in touch with the world more accessible and less expensive as compared to print media. Journalism and reporting agencies can update articles in real-time with new facts or information to keep the people up to date with developments on a headline. Secondly, compared to printed articles, graphical representation of data is easier to display on the web. Usage of charts, diagrams and other illustrations make the stories not only more understandable but also informative. For example, an article on how a particular stock has changed in value over the last 3 days is easier to represent on a line diagram than a written paragraph as it will enable in-depth and flexible analysis. Another aspect that makes the newspapers a less favourable option to consume current events compared to electronic media is the expense involved from the production to the logistics of a single page of a newspaper. With increasing emphasis on climate change, cutting down millions of trees to produce paper for printing can be a boon for the climate of our planet. Furthermore, printing paper and distributing them to the doorstep of people is time-consuming as well as not cost-effective. In a nutshell, with everything becoming available on our devices through the power of the internet, the news is better consumed and shared on the web. This will not only be a good step for our ecosystem but also for the individuals to access up to date events of the day.