Today many young people spend too much of thier free time at shopping malls.This can be considered negative for young people and society generally.To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement.

Leisure time spent in commercial superstores is increasingly popular these days. It is generally believed that this trend could impact individuals and society negatively, though I personally opine on the contrary. As for me, I do not agree with the said idea because shopping places are meet-up places for many and they also benefit the retail business. With nuclear families emerging rapidly, shopping complexes are a preferred place for social interactions. College students are often spotted at these places during their free time It is a go-to place to relax, chill with friends, eat and even have meaningful conversations. Earlier, the norm of going to a library was common among youngsters, however with the facility of everything under one roof: shops, restaurants, activities and window shopping, going to a mall is most beneficial. Moreover, with no weather restrictions, these hubs attract more teenagers. New friendship bonds are observed and young people initiating a conversation, keeps them mentally healthy. Thus, shopping centres are much more than shopping alone. For instance, I recently celebrated my 30th Birthday at Erin Mill town centre in Mississauga, where we had a grand party at Pizza Hut and even played games at their gaming zone. This centre had a beautiful amphitheatre inside which made our day more enjoyable.Everyone had a toast and this was one of my memorable birthdays. In addition, hubs for shopping attract customers and entice them to make sensible purchases. Offering huge discounts and promotions almost on all occasions, shops inside the centre get an opportunity to make sales and expand their business. Flea markets inside the premises, often seen during weekends, are set up to launch new brands or products. Therefore, with a plethora of benefits, the youth frequent these malls. While this trend may encourage unnecessary purchases and unwanted consumerism, it is on us to be penny-wise. In conclusion, most young individuals prefer going to shopping malls to enjoy and relax. In my view, it fosters positivity and encourages adolescents to be socially involved. It also helps new businesses to grow and expand.