More and more people no longer read the newspaper or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Many people are shifting from print media and TV programs to the internet when it comes to obtaining news daily. I am on the view that this is a positive improvement, yet the above will not be permanently shifted. The evolvement of technology and the internet has enabled viewers to acquire information instantly. Firstly, readers get the chance to get instant news about what is happening around the world at a click of a button on their mobile phones, hence this gives the chance to everyone to be updated at the same time when something happens. Secondly, this opens the door of active journalism where a network of individuals can join and Livestream the issues which are occurring around the world which needs to be heard in society. Finally, the future of news will depend on how effectively the users wants to absorb the impact of the internet on the industry. Newspapers and TV programs have been at the forefront of news sharing for decades. To begin with, the older generation who are still alive would always want to continue reading printed material since it has been embedded in their DNA. Furthermore, due to the lack of infrastructure and internet availability among the rural areas the traditional methods will be the prefered option to get news. On the contrary, these habits will be erased naturally when the older generation passes away. In,conclusion even though newspapers and TV are still being used as an option to get news, it will be inevitable to stop the complete shift of the internet from taking over the mainstream of information sharing in the future.