As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

While countries are developing, the number of car buyers for their personal usage is increasing. Although there are some advantages over individuals, I will argue that there are more drawbacks for the environment. The possession of personal vehicles can provide amenities for the owner. The benefits for people incorporate increased personal freedom and the storage of time. Cars allow people to travel and go to any remote destination without any worry about access to public transportation. They provide a sense of confidence in any area with limited public transportation options. A further advantage is that cars can save time by reducing travel durations. For example, a worker whose workplace is far away from their house doesn’t have to spend time waiting for a bus in a bus station daily. However, there are considerable menaces to the environment. Firstly, the increasing rate of usage of personal cars causes traffic congestion, one of the significant problems in megacities. The infrastructure required to accommodate cars, like roads and car parks, can also result in deforestation, habitat destruction, and loss of green spaces. Secondly, fossil fuels used by cars release harmful smoke, contributing to air pollution and negatively impacting human health. In conclusion, weighing up both sides of this mounting trend, although there are a number of benefits that personal vehicle usage brings, the disadvantages that it brings to the environment are impossible to ignore. I hope people prioritize the environmental issues to their comfort and manufacturers try to produce eco-friendly cars instead of petrol-driven ones and appreciate the extent of their damage to nature.