Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

People who live under the law of British and Australia often debate regarding the possible access to a persons' criminal records for Jury. Many people suggest that the Jury should have the access to the criminal records of the appellant for a sound judgment, whereas, some radical thinkers believe the access to the police records could deviate the case and clouds the Jury's judgment. I disagree with this, a jury would able to make a better decision if the past records are available. It prevents the criminal to escape from punishment. To begin with, the advocates of British and Australian law have argued that the Jury has to verify and evaluate each case individually. The persons' old records should not impact the decision of the Judge and the confidentiality of respondents' details should be preserved. A famous road traffic accident case of Mr Roy Johndon in New York, 2015 is a good example of this. Having an idea of a person who had minor charges on drunken drive 10 years ago has influenced the Jury's judgment without verifying the current evidence of drunken drive. Mr John was sentenced to prison for 10 years for a murder charge. The case was re-opened after his wife's appeal to the high court where justice is served and he was released. Because the Jury had access to his old police report, an innocent man has suffered for 3 years in prison. On the other hand, scholars in civil administration have said knowing one person's past will aid a better judgment during trials. It is quite clear when a criminal investigator was arrested for the rape of a 15-year-old schoolgirl in Sydney in 2018, the Jury had delivered a judgment based on the current circumstance. The officer was released and he killed the fourth victim while raping at his apartment and the neighbours witnessed the horrifying death of a young girl. There were two other school girls who had complaints against this particular officer for rape charges in the past. However, there were no data available during the first trial, the psychopath officer had his freedom to thrive in his crime. The death of a young girl would have prevented if the system of justice allowed to have the access to criminal records. In conclusion, In spite of the negative impact that has caused by knowing persons' previous criminal reports, there are greater benefits when serving fair judgment. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the British and Australian laws where there are no available particulars about the suspect's old crime. The details of the litigant's history are a vital fact when the Jury gives the final verdict.