Some people say that you can learn more about another country by watching television programmes and films about it than by actually visiting it. How true is this statement? Is there anything you can learn about another country by visiting it that cannot learn by watching programmes and films about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

It is a common belief that people can gain a deep insight into another country's culture by following television shows and films about it than by travelling directly to it. Nevertheless, there have situations that people can only acquire knowledge of a country's customs by physical travel. Admittedly, it is inexpensive, for armchair travellers to learn knowledge from the sources of the Internet. This is because some locations are just too arduous or expensive such as the North Pole, Antarctica and by watching television films, they can climb mountains in their minds, even if their bodies don't go in. As a result, travellers can enjoy the joy of exploring a place, a culture, or a period of history from the comfort of home. However, there are some experiences that tourists can only learn from physical travel. To be more specific, an expedition allows them the opportunity to be active throughout the entire day, visiting local attractions, participating in fun activities, or just generally exploring. Most of the time, travellers probably won’t even notice that they are working their muscles more frequently because they are so excited to learn about the new destination. Besides, people believe that culture can be best understood when one physically visit that place. Proponents of this viewpoint argue that films and books do not cover all the aspects and often shows only positive attributes and customs of a place. Cultural values and traditions are best analysed when we live with them and participate in their festivals, religious gatherings, weddings and other events. Moreover, they say that books and the internet give us limited information and physical presence in instrumental to observe and understand their emotion, feelings, sentiments and so on showcased during different occasions. In conclusion, it seems to me that television can help people to know about distinct areas and regions on Earth, but there are still many situations that only travel directly offer.