Some people say that you can learn more about another country by watching television programmes and films about it than by actually visiting it. How true is this statement? Is there anything you can learn about another country by visiting it that cannot learn by watching programmes and films about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

it argued television audience can gain more knowledge of a country rather than people who actually visit it. While I agree with this statement, I also believe that physical excursions can offer travelers experiences and understandings of a nation beyond television content’s ability. On the one hand, it is true that television programs can offer audience a wide range of information on a country that a trip cannot otherwise. It is because such programs are professionally written with the purpose of introducing, for example, a political situation of a country. As a result, it is clear that a visitor cannot obtain such type of information from travelling alone. On the other hand, it is undeniable that physical visits have the ability to significantly deepen a person’s knowledge of a nation, one that television consumption cannot. A major factor to consider is that physical visits offer learning through real-life experiences. Only when immersing oneself in local cultures, can visitors and travelers gain a deeper understanding of a country ’s traditions and customs. For instance, some foreigners still hold onto the belief that Vietnam is heavily affected by the devastating effects of war, despite the fact that it ended more than 50 years ago. This can partly be explained by the continuous association between Vietnam and war made by the media. However, after traveling to this Vietnam, visitors are bound to realize that it is, in fact, a peaceful country with a promising future ahead. To conclude, my assertion is that while television programs can provide people with an abundance of information on a country, traveling to the country itself can also offer real-life experiences that should not be overlooked.