Research says more and more business training and business meeting are taking place online. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology has become an extension of our everyday life. Nowadays, many organizations are advocating online job training and business convention rather than conducting them face to face. While there are both advantages and disadvantages associated with this practice, the negative aspects supersede the merits. Firstly, taking part in meetings and training online can be distracting and disruptive. Working from the comfort of our own space might drift our attention away to other things such as checking the social media platforms or e-shopping. Thus, it will prove to be unproductive. Additionally, people might find it difficult to participate in discussions or share their ideas due to the lack of social interactions with the peers. To illustrate, if a person has some questions regarding the training, he or she might hesitate to ask the trainer during online sessions. Nevertheless, there are a few cons to online interactions. It is possible to attend meetings from anywhere with a good internet connection. The individual doesn't need to be physically present and it is convenient. For example, online sessions have gathered popularity during the current pandemic situation, as it is not easy to travel to other places now. Moreover, virtual meet-ups also help to save time and money usually spend on commuting to the workplace. People need not rush to work and can be stress-free. Despite these merits, it is a negative development as the success rate of online sessions are low. To conclude, although there are few advantages to online encounters, the disadvantages outweigh the benefits. Attending training and meetings virtually is not fruitful for an individual even though it is convenient and cost-effective.