In some countries, many young people choose to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

In recent times, as the world evolves, teenagers are deciding to take a sabbatical year from school to either join the workforce or become tourists. For many, this decision is essential. However, others view it as unnecessary. In this essay, both the benefits and downsides will be discussed. There are two main reasons why people choose to take a gap year. Firstly, for those who choose to work, this period can serve as a chance to save up enough money for university tuition fees. For example, in the UK, several secondary school graduates suspend their further education for a year to work menial jobs such as becoming team members at McDonald's. As a result, their student loans are reduced by the time they finish their studies. From the travelling perspective, life is filled with hustle and bustle. Taking a one- year break from school is needed to improve one’s mental condition. To further illustrate, Chinese students are generally known to be thoroughly scrutinized throughout their school years. Because of this, the government funds international travel to unwind, making them psychologically fit for the next session. On the other hand, there are counterarguments against a year off from schooling. One of the most significant downsides is the perception that it promotes laziness. Some parents believe their children being idle reduces their intelligence quotient. Moreover, some believe that their children’s education should be hastened. For instance, in Nigeria, it is common to see people graduate at the age of fourteen and immediately pursue tertiary education. This belief is driven by the notion that graduating earlier makes their children more important. To conclude, advocating for a year off after high school can be a controversial topic. While it can serve as a way to be financially secure and mentally stable, it can also be perceived as a means to reduce one’s intellect and a waste of time.