Most young people leave school with a negative attitude toward learning. Why do you think this is happening? What can be done to encourage them to have a positive attitude?

Although the education level of the young generation is higher than before, most of them hold a negative attitude towards study especially after graduation. Some possible reasons as well as potential methods to tackle this issue will be analyzed and suggested in this essay. There are three main reasons for this case, the essential one of which is that teachers and parents have distorted recognition of formal education. In their views, the object of acquiring academic knowledge, participating in community activities or competition is for achieving better grades that are prerequisites when appplying for the prestigious university or decent job positions. Unfortunately, the result is often contrary to their expectations. There seems no indispensable relation between higher salary and diploma; the admission of first-tier university and a good GPA, which has been proved by the examples of senior students who are still struggling with competitiors competition in the job market or undertaking a job with lower payment. The second reason lies in the examination-oriented assessment system. Tests are widely used as the sole way to evaluate the learning process, which enormously demotivates students who are not adapt at testing. Last but not least, some students are forced to choose subjects that less interest them. In order to increase the possibility of attaining a stable job, they may mojor in engineering or medicine though art or literary is their sincere pursuit. There are several pratices practise practice and actions can be applied to reverse the negative attitude to learning. First of all, the development of personal all-round ability should be emphasized. Apart from scores of exams, students ' aesthetic appreciation, athletic ability and moral integrity are supposed to be main items of assessment. In addition, it is neccessary for goverment to promote the diversity of industries. Public funding or tax revenues can be allocated to support the artistic programs or archaeology which may have less relevant with economic growth but are ideals for certain students. In conclusion, it is one's attitude that determines her success. Only when students have enthusiasm about learning can they benefit from the knowledge they accumulated and skills they mastered.