The best way to solve traffic and transportation problems is to encourage people to live in cities rather than suburbs or countryside. What extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that persuading citizens to stay in city areas instead of the countryside is the most sufficient method to eliminate traffic and transportation issues. While I accept that the perception is somewhat justified, I believe that there are other factors that authorities should consider. On the one hand, it is understandable why people are advised to live in the city centre rather than other places. First and foremost, living in a metropolis might diminish the traffic congestion. For example, the local people easily walk or cycle to their daily destinations nearby, such as schools, supermarkets, or workplaces, thereby reducing traffic on the streets as well as decreasing the possibility of accidents. Furthermore, urban living could encourage the development of public transit. This is because, an increase in residents means that buses or subways are introduced to serve them, which could not only lower the cost of travelling but also decrease the amount of released fumes into the air that results in many serious respiratory issues such as lung cancer. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why governing bodies should be aware of urban residing promotion. One rationale is that this opinion could exacerbate existing issues in cities. In fact, settling in town leads to overcrowding and pollution, which could put a heavy burden on traffic infrastructure when they can not afford the huge travel demands of various commuters. Another justification is that the motivation of dwelle in metropolis might cause negative effects to a certain low-class people. For instance, the enormous cost incurred by extending roads or establishing more public transportation would put a strain on government coffers, thereby leading to budget deficits, tax hikes, or reduced social welfare. As a result, ordinary citizens, especially the underprivileged, would struggle more to make ends meet. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that encouraging people to live in urban areas could solve the transportation problems, I would contend that authorities should take its drawbacks into consideration.