Many museums charge for the entries while others are free? Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission for museum outweigh disadvantages?

Many museums around the world are imposing fees for the visit but some of it waives their entry fees for the visitors. Museum are cultural heritage for every country and also it is transmitting the history of ancestors to next generation. I am inclined to believe the merits of charging the public for the permit is far outweigh its demerits. To begin with, most people at least have visited the museum once in their lifetime. It is a proud symbol of the culture and customs of indigenous society. Therefore, every museum should preserve and maintain to the core. If museums are charged for entry, which can limit the visitors, and eventually it can be prevented from exploitation. Many famous tourist attractions have already been damaged by overcrowded travelers. Furthermore, ancient monuments and antique arts in the museum need to be kept intact. The preservation techniques cost thousands of dollars annually. The maintenance cost would be a burden for the government. Instead, the charged entrance fees for the visitor can utilize for it's expenditures. However, the payment for the visitors could inhibit the arrival of local people. Thus the young populatuon in the locality would not be able to know the culture, inherited arts and other forms of traditions.  To conclude, charging fees for the viewers in museums will minimize the visitor and therefore it can be prevented from exploitation. Hence the benefits of entry fees of museums outweigh the drawbacks.