The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many individuals believe that the working week ought to be shorter and employees should have a longer weekend. I completely agree with this statement because it can improve workers’ health and increase their productivity at work. This essay will discuss the main reasons and support them with examples.

To begin with, employees ought to have a longer weekend to improve their health by having enough time to rest and recover before returning to work. Compared to their current working hours, reducing the working week by one day will not have a negative impact. To illustrate, in 2017, Oberon Company conducted a study on a small number of workers. They had about three weekend days, and the employees experienced a positive impact, as the study showed that a considerable number of them improved their performance at work. Moreover, the employees had a better personal life.

Additionally, a shorter working week can increase employees ' productivity. When workers have enough time to rest, they will be able to return to work with more energy and concentration. As a result, they will complete their tasks more efficiently. For instance, a recent study conducted by Stanford University revealed that employees who took some days off performed their jobs about 20% better than others. Furthermore, they will be able to solve problems in their companies in more effective ways.

In conclusion, having one extra day for the weekend will have a positive impact on all employees ' health and their ability to perform their jobs effectively.