The movement of people from the villages to the cities for work can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems associated with this? what measures can be taken to solve this problem?

The Industrialisation of megapolis has led to an increase in the rate of persons migrating from rural to urban areas in search of greener pastures. This has led to serious problems such as overpopulation, but there are a number of solutions available to tackle it. This essay will discuss the causes of rural-urban migration and profer solutions to it. One negative effect of rural exodus is overpopulation of the urban areas. As more people leave the villages to the municipalities, the proportion of people in the city increases and consequently population explosion occurs. Lagos State for example, has become the most populous State in Nigeria due to the high influx of people into the State, resulting in several environmental problems such as air, land and noise pollution from industrial and human activities, thus affecting health negatively. Furthermore, there is an increase in crime rate, as most urban dwellers are unemployed, a lot of them resort to illegal activities such as stealing and cybercrime. However, there are ways of tackling this situation. Firstly, the government can make life better for those in the rural areas through provision of basic amenities like hospitals, schools, portable water and electricity, and also by making sure these are available for all, as it will help curtail the number of persons trying to leave their present locations in search for a better one. Secondly, jobs should be created for all citizens, because, when everyone is engaged, it will drastically reduce crime rate in the metropolis. Similarly, individuals can also learn a skill for themselves, so they can earn a living without support from the government. In conclusion, although problems of overpopulation and increase in crime rate are common in the city due to rural depopulation, the government can tackle these issues by creating a better environment for it's citizens to thrive.