Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is considered by many that the government should grant funding for supporting artists namely painters and musicians, whilst others think those artists should be sponsored by different sources. In this essay, I will consider both sides of public opinion and provide my opinion. To begin with, many individuals believe art is essential for a society in which citizens can enjoy and be inspired by it. In addition, it promotes the harmony and creative thinking of people in the nation. Therefore, it is crucial for the authority to grand funding for developing art. For instance, being an artist is often considered as a career which you will not be able to make a living from it. For this reason, many individuals would prefer to invest their time to study in other academic subjects namely mathematics and science to secure their living in the future. There are many amateur artists could not meet their financial needs by creating art works or performing music. Consequently, less and less artwork will be created. Therefore, local government should invest resources to support the art industry. On the other hand, it is noticeable that there are many more pressing social issues need to be prioritized by the authority. Instead of subsidising to support luxury item- art, government should grant funding to alleviate poverty by supporting social services. For instance, healthcare, education as well as housing system. Creative artists should make their own efforts to earn their incomes through other means. To illustrate, they can sell their artworks to public or work with private companies to organize performance in a way they can charge the audiences. Artists should work hard to develop their careers not depending on the nation’s sponsor. In conclusion, it is obvious that there are many more serious social issues which governments should prioritize over supporting artists. In my opinion, the government should still reserve a certain amount of funding to support artists and promotes art in the country.