Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

A huge amount of rubbish has been produced in the world in recent years and overconsumption is the main cause for this. I believe that this problem could be solved if the government establishes some strict rules and makes people follow them. To begin with, the standard of living in today's society has been characterized by overconsumption, thus this has led to producing more and more rubbish. Furthermore, astronomic quantities of products are produced each day in order to satisfy the massive demand of the market. Consequently, industrial and domestic rubbish is increasing dramatically. For instance, industrial rubbish represents 60% of the global rubbish in the world. However, every problem could have its own solutions. Governments could overcome this issue by implanting strict rules to follow by both people and industrial companies. As an example, limiting production to a certain number could help effectively solve this problem by obliging factories to produce less or pay huge fines on the function of the produced waste. Besides, schools could play an important role in sensitizing children and making them aware of the extreme effects of this issue at an early age. Furthermore, sensitization campaigns on TV, radio or newspapers could have a positive impact on people's behavior. To conclude, the increase in rubbish production is due essentially to overconsumption and this could be reduced if governments fine factories which don't respect the implanted rules. Campaigns of sensitization at schools, on TV, on the radio or in newspapers could also be part of the solution.