Online shopping is becoming more common these days.What effect could this have on the environment and the types of jobs required?

Nowadays, the trend of buying things over the internet is becoming increasingly popular. There are several negative effects of this transition on the environment as well as on the types of jobs these e-commerce sites offer. Firstly, cyber shopping is bringing about unnecessary pollution and non-biodegradable waste to the habitat. This is because the easy exchange & return policies of such websites has enticed people to shop online and because of that people often buy more than required and keep the one that best fits their needs and return/exchange others. Consequently, this is damaging our habitat by creating pollution emerging from the delivery vehicles and packaging waste that these online sites use to attract buyers. For example, a survey conducted by The Times Magazine found 15% of non-biodegradable waste has been increased since internet buying has become common. Secondly, unreliable and contractual jobs are the disadvantages of these online companies. The reason for this that they are providing minimum wages employment and exploiting their staff by offering contractual work with no full-time employee perks and benefits. For instance, these platforms require a great number of staff such as delivery agents and warehouse security personal etc. but in turn, they are just creating low-income profession with no adequate facilities. As a consequence, many are living in poverty despite the fact they are working day and night. In conclusion, e-shopping has negative effects of polluting our environment and exploiting youth by providing unreliable employment with no full-time benefits. To alleviate the worsening condition of the environment and such jobs, both governments and societies should take some steps together.