Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

A large number of young learners opt to take a gap year before they enter university in order to travel or to participate in an internship. I personally think this thought is beneficial, as such opportunities can offer diverse insights and lead them to explore their job interests. First, travelling can provide them with precious cultural insights and experiences that they can gain only through travelling. This is because going abroad exposes them to a wide range of cultures and languages, which can broaden their perspectives as well as their sense of values. For instance, according to some statistics conducted by the Japanese Administration in 2019, 80% of university students at Kyoto University, who took a gap year to go abroad, said that their experience in foreign countries was significantly helpful when they studied their majors, such as linguistics and sociology, in depth, considering a variety of perspectives which they gained abroad. Next, taking part in an internship in their youth can also bring you some benefits, especially in terms of practical skills and knowledge of the job market. Most teenagers are likely to enter university right after graduation from high school without work experience. However, by participating in internships, they can decide which job market is more suitable for them in advance, consequently enabling them to focus on what they need to study for their future career. To illustrate this, in the U.S, a majority of high schools recommend students to take part in internships before entering university, as it is profitable for them to learn their interests and suitable professions through working in companies. In conclusion, a lot of teenagers tend to take a year off from education to travel or to accumulate experience through career practices. I strongly believe that this tendency is beneficial because the year broadens perspectives and enables them to learn what to study before going back to education.