Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they are released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What effect will this have on society?

Studies show that people commit crimes either due to need or due to their mental state. Be it because of the surroundings they are left back in or because of the lack of bare minimum funds to look after themselves, we see people of criminal background reverting back to their old selves even after servicing their time in prisons. This ultimately would cost society time, money and could sometimes interfere with the development. Firstly, the social status of convicts doesn't change much even after they are released. More often than not, they tend to live with their people who could have broken the law themselves. For example, substance abuse is a burning problem in the United States of America. Research shows that most of the adolescents who are set free on account of good behaviour, tend to go back to their drinking habits if either of the parents is prone to alcohol or drug abuse. Without having an opportunity of being away from a social circle that has a negative influence, it would be tough to break the patterns that once motivated to commit a crime in the first place. Secondly, the economic status of a person would not have altered greatly post-prison period. The system that we are in today considers punishment as a remedy for increasing the crime rate. Most of the establishments that hold criminals today aren't investing in skill improvement programs. Which would eventually make prisoners self-sufficient and earn money in a respectable way. For,instance a person without a job to survive on one's own feet, tend to survive by resorting to unethical means,unlike the one who is self-sufficient. It takes a lot of time for each and every process involved, from the time a person is accused until his release. Most of the money that is used to maintain infrastructures or to pay salaries to all these government officials comes from people's pocket. If prison sentences don't help in reducing crime in one go, both these resources would be in vain. In an otherwise low crime nation, funds and efforts could be invested in cultural or technological developments. Also, a place that is high in crime would have a negative reputation,stopping people from considering it an ideal place to settle down or to invest in or to visit. This could have a serious impact on tourism, industrial, real-estate domains which are considered to be high income-generating businesses, thereby impacting the overall development of society. In conclusion, socio-economic factors that make people repeat felonies would have a deteriorating impact on the development of society and wastes a lot of money in the process of reducing criminal activities without much success.