Some people think that the government should provide free public libraries in every town, while others think that this is a waste of money because people can access information on the internet. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate regarding the existence of public libraries in cities. Some residents support this investment, while others disagree with it and claim that it is a waste of resources because most people currently use the internet. I personally agree with the former view, and both perspectives will be discussed in this essay. With the development of technology in recent years, it is certain that a large amount of information can be accessed by devices connected to the internet, as well as from printed books. As a result, some people argue that public libraries are not necessary for the city, because their function can be replaced by the internet. For example, students could get help from online tutors to solve their questions in the assignments, instead of reading books in libraries. However, public libraries are not only a place to borrow and read books, but also a quiet place for studying. It provides a peaceful environment and creates a calm atmosphere for learning. Pupils can focus on what they are studying easily in the library, rather than at home or other places. This is critical for anyone who needs such a space. Also, for elderly people who are not familiar with electronic devices such as smartphones or computers, the public libraries are still vital for helping them to get information from newspapers or magazines. For instance, currently, public libraries provide free Wi-Fi for young people to surf online. In addition, printed books or newspapers can also be found for those people who have difficulty using laptops. In my opinion, I support the idea that the public libraries should be kept. This is because it is still meaningful to have such a facility as a spiritual haven. It is not a waste of taxpayers' money; conversely, it is a worthy and valuable investment for all residents. To conclude, public libraries are essential institutions for the community, which should receive continuous financial support from the government.