Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they are released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What effect will this have on society?

Studies show that crowd commit crimes either due to need or due to their mental state. Be it because of the surroundings they are left back in or because of the lack of bare minimum funds to look after themselves, we see folk of criminal background reverting back to their old selves even after servicing their turn in prisons. This ultimately would cost the nation time, money and could sometimes interfere with its progress. Firstly, the social status of convicts doesn't change much even after they are released. More often than not, they tend to live with their family who could have broken the law themselves. For example, substance abuse is a burning problem in the United States of America. Research shows that most of the adolescents who are set free on account of good behaviour, tend to go back to their drinking habits if either of the parents is prone to alcohol or drug abuse. Without having an opportunity of being away from a social circle that has a negative influence, it would be tough to break the patterns that once motivated to commit a misdeed in the first place. Secondly, the economic status of a person would not have altered greatly post-prison period. The system that we are in today considers punishment as a remedy for increasing the lawlessness rate. For instance, most of the establishments that hold criminals today aren't investing in skill improvement programs. Which could eventually make prisoners self-sufficient and earn wealth in a respectable way. Without a job to survive on one's own feet, it would be no wonder that the crowd tend to survive by resorting to unethical means once again. Both of the above issues are a serious threat to the development of a society. To illustrate further,it takes a lot of time for each and every process involved, from the point a person is accused until his release. Most of the capital that is used to maintain infrastructures or to pay salaries to all these government officials comes from the public's pocket. If prison sentences don't help in reducing violation in one go, both these resources would be in vain. In an otherwise low,scandal nation funds and efforts could be invested in cultural or technological developments. In conclusion, socio-economic factors that make the population repeat felonies would have a deteriorating impact on the advancement of the community and wastes a lot of money in the process of reducing criminal activities without much success. Alternative strategies like prisons investing a little in art, music or any activity that promotes both the well-being and financial situation of the masses under their supervision, would stop ex-inmates visiting jails again. Making sure that the environment they stay in is not breached would be beneficial in the long run.