In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

The developed countries face some problems related to ageing society from rising life expectancy. In this essay, I am going to explain problems and solutions, which come from ageing according to social and individual aspects. On the one hand, there are several problems arising from an ageing society. First, we can face a shortage of labour. This is because a great number of the elderly are not allowed to work due to health issues. This phenomenon led to freezing and decreasing in economic growth so that it ended up with one of the serious problems in developed countries. For example, some advanced countries encourage the companies to import labourers from undeveloped countries. Second, the need for welfare will rise further. This is because there are old people who do not prepare for their life after retirement so that the government has to spend a large amount of money on taking care of them. For example, if they do not get the least amount of grant from the regime, they can keep their life. On the other hand, there are some ideas which resolve these trouble. Firstly, the authority has to encourage childbirth. Since ageing is caused by a decline in young people and children, the government ought to largely climb the population of children and guarantee maternity leaves without gender. For instance, the ministry invests funds to expand child care centres and the labour force in daycare centres, a lot of parents are not hesitant to give birth any more. Secondly, providing the training courses for old people is the best way to go back to their work. By working with them, freezing economic development will be realized somewhat. In conclusion, an ageing society has problems including a lack of labour and spending lots of money on welfare. However, if the government ensure some policies about facilities taking care of children, maternity leaves and providing education to old people for working again, we can solve these issue.