Most people agree that money cannot be happiness. Why is happiness difficult to define? How can people achieve happiness?

It is agreed by most people that they are not necessarily happy even if they have money. However, it is difficult to define happiness, as there are so many other factors contributing to it. Being aware of as many types of joy in life as possible is crucial for people to achieve happiness. The reason happiness cannot be easily defined is that it is determined by each person based on their life experience. In other words, individuals have different things in life such as personalities, occupations and relationships therefore the definition of happiness varies from person to person. For example, someone who is in poor health conditions may find happiness in just being physically healthy and having the basic human needs, while a doctor in a developing country feels happiness through job satisfaction rather than a high salary. With regard to the steps people can take in order to live in contentment, it is important to define happiness in many different ways. That is to say, if people have only one source of prosperity, it increases the chance of becoming unhappy as there is no guarantee that they can secure it. For instance, if someone only defines happiness as discovering a perfect partner, they are likely to feel dissatisfied with their life unless they meet the one for whom they are searching. In such a case, it is much easier to become happier by finding ways to enjoy life on their own. To conclude, happiness cannot be easily defined, as circumstances in life affect how we perceive it. In my view, I feel that by realizing that there are a lot of things in which we can take pleasure, we would be able to be content with our lives.