Some people think that sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults Discuss both these views and give your opinion

The issue of a sense of competition in children has been raising a lot of debates. Some might say that this is the instinct that should be encouraged because it helps children be independent and have a clear target in their life. On the contrary, others insist on the opinion that competitive instinct will make children become violent and they can feel lonely sometimes. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and I hereby follow the former opinion by the following reasons. To begin with, a lot of advantages can be seen when infant have a sense of competition. Firstly, when they learn how to be alone, they are independent and have a strong mindset, then they are able to confront difficulties in real life. Secondly, when children know what they are competing for, they have a clear target in their life. For instance, a child wants to get marks better than other students in class when they have studied abroad target. Finally, this instinct practises children have a cold head so they can make appropriate decisions in future. On the other hand, some people claim that the sense of competition make children be more violent and they can lose their relationship and be lonely. For example, a child fights with his friend because of food, and when they grow up, they use violence to resolve the conflicts instead of words. However, we can not live without the sense of competition, and we use this in the right way it can become a very useful tool. In fact, almost successful people have a very strong sense of competition. In conclusion, children should be encouraged to learn the competitive instinct in the early days.