In recent years, many small local shops have closed because consumers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In recent times, the pattern of shopping amongst the community has drastically changed. The local shops are eradicated from the market and replaced by the large shopping centre in the public’s shopping preferences. As a change could bring both positive and opposite sides, which will discuss in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the mega-market is availing an innumerable range of products to the customers and elevating their standards of living. Plus, larger shopping centres are satisfying all the demands of the purchasers at a single destination. Such a dynamic method of business is not only satisfying its customers but also generating many employment opportunities. Moreover, the attractive discount offers are provoking many consumers and this proves that customers and shopkeeper both are benefited. For example, the mega plaza offers a variety of goods at discounted rates, hence the population are benefited by having more goods in their limited budget. Thus, a large market plays a vital role in improving the public lifestyle. On the other hand, the declining local shops are portraying many serious threats to society, like a weaker economy, unemployment and poverty. Although a shopping mall is tempting for buyers, the adverse effects are influencing the whole society as well as the mall culture has been promoting materialism to the crowd. For instance, many handicraft, small scale businesses of rural regions have been disappearing due to the mall culture and materialism. With the altering in shopping patterns, a detrimental effect on the domestic economy is presumed to ignite. In conclusion, an interference in term of characterizing the style of shopping has two faces which enhancing the community lifestyle and bring down one nation's budget. So the answer to the indicated question on this topic is it would be a benefit gain and a risk if we are determined to proceed.