In some countries, people who are unemployed receive a sum of money each week in the form of a benefit, while some support this, other people believe that this money should not be given. Discuss both points of view and give your own point of view

In many parts of the world, the unemployment rate has sky-rocketed. To tackle the scourge of unemployment, many nations are bestowing unemployment perks to those who don't have a job.While some are in favour of this scheme, others are against this notion. In my opinion, providing monetary benefits to the jobless is not a sustainable solution to eradicate unemployment. This essay will examine both viewpoints and derive a conclusion. Firstly, people will take the payment provided for granted. They will feel entitled to the payment and also might misuse the money. For example, instead of spending it on essentials, they might splurge it on vices like smoking or alcohol. Consequently, living on unemployment sum might make a person lazy. It will adversely affect their skill set as they don't take any pain to find a job or to improve their work skills. For instance, if a person has not worked for a prolonged period of time, it will be extremely difficult for him to start over a new job as he might have lost touch with his skills. So overall, supporting the unemployed with cash is not a long-term feasible process. On the other hand, there are a few benefits to the support scheme. First off, it can be a great help to impoverished families. Parents will be able to pay for their children's education and also take care of their needs. In many rural areas, people are struggling to meet their daily necessities, so f this scheme can be extremely beneficial for them. Also, they can save the money they get weekly and invest it for future use or in case of any emergency situations like hospitalisation. However, these can be easily managed if a person is employed and is working hard. In a nutshell, although there are few pros to monetary benefits given to the unemployed as it supports them in their day to day needs, it is not a sustainable programme. Merely providing money will make people lazy and deter them from developing their skills.