Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

As humankind became comfortable, aware and present in most lands on the planet, some publics still look for inaccessible places under hard conditions in order to relish tourism. Albeit the curiosity and thrill of visiting locations such as deserts and glaciers, I believe that there are more disadvantages than advantages within these activities. One of the disadvantages of this scenario is the increase in pollution in these areas. Usually, tourists demand more local services and there is a high probability of producing more waste and rubbish. For instance, in the last years, the tourism in the Himalaya's has been illustrated by a number of empty plastic bottles following the line of people waiting for their turn to climbing the mountains. Moreover, isolated areas such as this one do not offer enough cleaning services because there has never had an expectation of crowds before. Another drawback is the exposure to risks. Social media has been advertising the visitation of difficult destinations, although it was a movement started by experienced travellers. Whenever there are people with low preparation and skills to deal with harsh conditions, this type of trip might result in several damages. An example of that is the occurrence of people getting lost in small islands without available communication and not always being rescued even if they can ask for help. However, the presence of travellers in extreme locations is not absolutely worthless. These places are often more affected by climate changes and the register and visitation of tourists might produce beneficial reactions. For instance, if a celebrity or a person with relevant engagement can visually bring to the public the consequences of industry exploitation or low protection of a pivotal environment to diversity, they can endorse protests and provoke a faster action from public power. To sum up, there are more disadvantages than benefits in tourism in dangerous regions to human beings. Nevertheless, with the right precautions, this activity can put a light on important issues regarding environmental protection.