Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental pollution has been a major concern in today’s society, and some people feel that governments should raise the fare of fuel to resolve this issue. In my opinion, it may help to some extent; however, this is not the only solution to tackle this problem. To begin with, increasing the price of ammunition can help reduce environmental deterioration to some degree. In other words, excessive use of cars releases carbon dioxide into the atmosphere which is detrimental to the environment. If the cost of fuel is increased / hiked), individuals will start to use their cars less often and this, in turn, can decelerate the rate of air pollution. However, the increase in the cost of petrol will not stop environmental pollution. Besides, the fuel price determines the market prices of other essential commodities, and increasing the cost can affect poor and middle-class families. On the other hand, governments can take other measures to mitigate these problems. A better solution is to invest in renewable energy sources such as wind, solar and tide rather than non-renewable resources like coal and petrol. For example, solar power in the United States has proven its efficiency in energy production. Second, by improving public transportation and reducing the cost of travelling, the government can encourage more people to use public transport; this practice can help clean the environment and reduce traffic. To conclude, I strongly believe that the hike in the petrol price is not the best solution to this problem. Improving the efficiency of public transport and investing in renewable energy sources are better alternatives that ought to be considered.