There are different customs in different countries related to how people eat, dress, and so on. Some think that people visiting a country should behave according to customs of the country they visit. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Universal diversity is an undeniable fact for any global citizen. Hence, the cultural values, beliefs and customs differ from nation to nation. As a result, some assert that visitors who travel to these countries should follow these value systems during their stay. I too am an advocate of this statement. To begin with. compling compiling to customs and cultural aspects of the host nation would certainly be beneficial to the traveller. In other words, it shows that they respect a country's culture and religious attributes which would guide them to refrain from commiting unlawful acts. For example, in the UAE people are prohibited to smoke in public places. If a negligent person who is unaware of this law smokes, he or she would be jailed for 5 years. Therefore, it is imperative to behave according to the customs of these countries. Another point to consider is the support and acceptance the visitors can obtain from the host country. Thus, when the society is aware that tourists respect their cultural attributes, they would certainly assist in an emergency situation. For instance, in countries such as India, they regard foriegners with respect as long as they accept and respect the local protocols. An American journalist wrote to New York Times about how the locals helped him to survive during the conflict between India and Pakistan. Hence, the benefits are clear. In conclusion, the world is a diverse global village. I strongly believe that all the citizens should follow and accept these differences and behave accordingly as it would facilitate to minimize the conflicts around us.