In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

Comparing the way of living is always interesting. When we observe our society there still are many differences regarding life in small towns and big cities, and both of them have their light and shadows -especially because one needs another - and I will discuss these two sides of perception about living in small cities in the lines below. The advantages of living in a small city are specially related to safety, I guess. If everyone is known it is harder for crime to arise since it is easier to get caught. But there is also the possibility of sharing responsibilities, and I think that is very valuable when it comes to raising a family. The community can be very helpful and supportive if an emergency happens, such as medical assistance or watching the children. It must be good to have so many hands to support, especially when life gets heavy. On the other hand, counting on others frequently might become the reason for arguments among neighbours. People usually value privacy and that is a bit difficult to get when everyone knows all about each other's life. Life in small cities can be challenged by the difficulty of setting boundaries, and where limits are not clear, it is more difficult to keep the peace. Another drawback of small communities is that sometimes it is too comfortable to live there, with all the help and support and that reality can make it harder for someone to get the maturity needed to live by themself. To summarise, there are challenges in the majority of places where there are human beings. To live well in small neighbourhoods one should get used to receiving opinions from those that will be the extension of a family, and know that every relationship has its ups and downs, and that is the beauty of it.