Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

It has been shown through some researches that genetic factors have more influence on human behaviours than environmental factors. In my,perspective both life experience and inborn characteristics have equal influence on our personality traits. This essay will explore my view in details. It is hard to deny the impact of our genetic package on human characteristics. This means, from the colour of our eyes to the personality we have, all are formulated based on the genetic materials we acquired from our parents. For instance, it has been shown by scientists that people with borderline personality disorder have shown to have at least one close family members diagnosed with a similar disorder. In fact, our ancestors' genetic formula can dictate who we will become in the future in terms of both personality and development. On the other hand, we should not underestimate the role of environmental factors and experiences we gain by living in different environments on who we are. This includes the geographical, socioeconomic, and psychosocial factors that can all impact human traits. In other words, genetic itself is not the only determinant of ones' personality. For instance, according to numerous researches done on some identical twins, when they separate the environment they were living in, they discovered that other outside factors can impact their personality and developments. Thus, other than the genetic traits we are born with, they are other equally important components that can determine our personality. To sum up, it seems to me that both outside and inside factors can have an equal impact on our personality and development. Even though research is more emphasizing genetic as the main factor.