It is impossible for governments to help all the people in the world who need helps, so governments should focus only on helping people in their own countries.

To what extent do you agree or disagree? In recent years, it seems that the gap between the rich and poor is widening in both individuals and countries. However, it is unlikely for wealthy governments to assist all people living in poverty and thus some people think that they can concentrate only on helping their own citizens. I partly agree with this view. One main reason in favour of this opinion is that it is the obligation of the governments to help their individuals in suffering. This is because governments monthly impose taxes on almost every working adult. Thus, I believe they should offer education to children from poor families, supply health care to patients who can not afford medical fees and allocate part of funds to pensions to support the well-being of retired, elderly people. Only by this, will adults who are making money be willing to pay taxes to governments, which is the base of the normal function of a nation. However, we should recognise that there still exist some people, in particular those in underdeveloped countries, who can not access basic living conditions, such as a tidy flat, clean water and sufficient food, and their government does not have the resources and funds to assist them. Thus, I think it is the governments with the ability, especially those in developed nations, who should cooperatively help their counterparts to get away from trouble because we are the only humans on Earth. For example, they can firstly send some food and help them build the necessary infrastructure, such as roads and drainage systems, to satisfy their primary lives and improve their hygiene conditions. Then, they can send some exceptional doctors, leading agricultural professors and educationalists to help cultivate the professionals there, which will make a difference in the long-term development of those countries and help their people fundamentally. Then, there will be fewer people needing help and this is the meaning of human, from my perspective. In conclusion, I think governments should first help citizens in their countries, but if they have the ability, it is necessary for them to make a joint effort to assist other people in trouble.