As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Do the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

Nowadays, there is a tendency for people living in developing countries to prefer purchasing privately-owned vehicles instead of taking public transportation. In my opinion, while this trend may be advantageous for individuals, it may cause some negative effects towards the environment. Admittedly, it seems to be more convenient for individuals to own a private car compared to using public transport in their daily lives. For example, a privately-owned car is a very convenient choice of transport for a family or a businessman, because cars provide flexibility in time management as there is no specific schedule set for users when they need to take it. Therefore, people do not have to worry about waiting too long for a bus or being late for an important date. In addition, it is much comfortable to sit in the privately-owned car where the interior environment is much cleaner and more comfortable than that in most public transportation systems. On the other hand, there is no doubt that the use of privately-owned cars can cause some negative impact. Firstly, the exhaust fumes will increase the greenhouse gas emissions in the atmosphere, such as carbon dioxide, which is released out into space. This will cause global temperature to rise and lead to the result of global warming. Secondly, if everyone is encouraged to use own cars, the vehicle exhaustion could cause excessive pollution, especially for the air quality. Thus, people no longer breathe fresh air and take the risk of having respiratory problems. In conclusion, considering the harmful effects towards the environment, the disadvantage of this trend does outweigh the advantages for individuals who own these vehicles.