In some countries, younger people are neglecting their right to vote. What problems does this cause and what are some of the possible solutions?

In recent times, a lot of countries are experiencing the trend, where young people have been neglecting their right to vote. This essay discusses the effects of this trend and what measures can be taken to resolve it. The young generation constitutes half of the voting population of most countries, and the demographic from recent studies has shown that a vast majority of the younger generation does not vote during the elections, which leads to wrong candidates getting elected. Most of the resources provided are to be used by this young population, therefore when they do not participate in electing a candidate, who serves best to a country’s needs, it leads to an imbalance and negatively impacts the country’s growth. During a media interview, when a cohort of university students were asked why they chose not to vote, their most common answer was that one vote does not make any difference. This instance shows that there is a grave need to educate young individuals about the importance of each vote as they are going to be the future of our country. The most significant step to eradicate this issue is to solve this root cause. Schools should provide adolescents with knowledge about politics and the workings of the voting system. Moreover, universities should have awareness programmes and workshops, educating and reminding these young adults of their right to vote, and how each vote can make a big difference. In conclusion, young adults declining their right to vote is slowing the growth of the country; however, this issue can be solved to a large extent by working on the most fundamental level, by educating these young minds from an early age.