Some people say that individuals who make a lot of money are most successful. Others think that those who contribute to society like scientists and teachers are most successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued whether money or social contributions should be considered as the criteria to assess a person’s success in society. In my opinion, although the former view can be true in some situations, the latter is more reasonable due to several reasons. On the one hand, there are many reasons why people believe that individuals who earn high incomes are the most successful. Firstly, it is an irrefutable fact that those people who have a high salary are usually working in big companies or having good jobs. This can be exemplified by the case of successful executive leaders of some large businesses, who not only gain respect from others but also still earn many thousand dollars on a monthly basis. Secondly, it is believed by a majority of people that successful people means those who can afford a luxurious life. In other words, they can enjoy the high living standards with prohibitively expensive products such as jewelry, clothes and cosmetics. On the other hand, I am still convinced that people who contribute to the community are the most successful. To begin with, not all wealthy people gain their money legally because they may commit crimes to make profits like trading heroin and money laundering. Therefore, these cases cannot be considered as successful despite their richness. Besides, people like scientists and teachers, who contribute to society are believed to be the most successful in terms of their in-depth knowledge and high social status. To be more specific, being a scientist or a teacher is not easy, so people have to spend a long time and effort acquiring knowledge so that they can satisfy the requirements of those high-level jobs. Therefore, they will receive respect from other people and be recognized as the most successful in society. In conclusion, being rich can be considered to be successful, however, I hold a firm belief that people who contribute to society are the most successful ones.