Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recent years has seen a rise in water pollution around the world. It has become a grave dilemma for many environmentalists. This essay will examine the reasons behind pollution of water sources and also will discuss how it affects human communities as well as other living organisms. To begin with, the main source of water pollution is industrial waste.Many factories are situated near a water body and they pump out the waste by-products directly into the water as it is convenient for them. Consequently, oils, chemicals and other harmful pollutants are discharged into the water which are toxic to the environment. Another possible cause is household wastes such as food and plastic wastes. In many developing countries, there are no viable facilities to dispose garbage generated from homes and are dumped into water sources. As plastics are non-degradable, they will remain forever. For example, river Ganges in India is one of the most polluted river in the world as it is full of plastic wastes. These causes are hazardous to the environment as well as the living beings. The effects of water pollution on animal life is extensive. It disturbs the water ecosystem thereby affecting the aquatic and marine life. Oil spills and chemicals pollutes the water and causes mass death of the aquatic creatures. We have seem many pictures of marine creatures who are suffocating because of plastic wires wounded around their neck which is a sad sight. Humans are also affected by water pollution in numerous ways. Many areas lack clean water and individuals fall prey to many water -borne diseases like cholera and typhoid which can be fatal. Also, consumption of fish or seafood from polluted sources can affect human health. For instance, many seafood nowadays have high mercury content which are harmful. To conclude, water pollution is a scourge caused by industrial waste disposal and household waste affecting the society and animal life alike.