Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the opinion that authorities ought to allocate money for railways rather than roads. In my point of view, I do not subscribe to the idea for the following reasons. Firstly, making a huge investment in railways is unnecessary, especially in developing nations since this will place a great burden on the domestic economy. To be more specific, the possibility of making profits in this kind of transportation is not high. With the low amount of money from selling tickets, the authority cannot use that one in order to pay maintenance fees as well as other extra ones like paying salary for employees. In this case, governments are compelled to use money in their fiscal budget in order to maintain the good infrastructure of railways. Secondly, from my knowledge, spending money on roads will help tackle traffic congestion, which is one of the most burning problems in many countries. This is due to the fact that in today’s world, more and more citizens have a tendency to use their private cars to commute or travel, and as an inevitable consequence, this causes traffic tram. In order to deal with this issue, the authority has to allocate money for expanding the distance of roads as well as improving the road quality to meet the increasing number of personal cars. Therefore, if the government pour more money into railways, they will not have enough budget for these improvements, especially in less-advanced nations. In conclusion, with the reasons mentioned above, I strongly believe that the government should spend more money on roads than railways.